Behind the campaign: Bake Against Poverty

Online income - a way out of old-age poverty

Behind the campaign: Bake Against Poverty

Online income - a way out of old-age poverty

Current News

Bake against Poverty on euronews Good Morning Europe (2021-04-28)

In a nutshell

“Vollpension BakAdemy” is an e-learning platform for seniors to provide baking courses to earn extra income. “Bake Against Poverty“ invites grandmas and grandpas all over the world to apply as baking teachers. With this campaign, we want to contribute to reducing old-age poverty and isolation among the elderly.

The challenge

Old-age poverty: Coronavirus accelerates a global problem

“In most countries, the risk of poverty increases with age.”

(Income Poverty in Old Age. An Emerging Development Priority; social.un.org/ageing, 2015)

 

By 2030, the group of people over 60 years old will double and increase to 2.1 billion.
There are hardly any aggregated global numbers on old-age poverty,
however, the UN explicitly warns that the way increasing poverty in
people over 60 is handled, will be decisive in whether the UN’s Sustainable
Development Goal “1 No poverty” can be obtained. Coronavirus increases the problem significantly, solutions have never been more relevant than today.

Old-age poverty: a world-wide issue

60% of all older people world-wide live in developing countries, where social and pension schemes are rare. In these countries in particular, old-age poverty has become an increasingly bigger problem. However, the UN increasingly observes poverty and interdependencies in particular in older women in richer countries, as well, due to outdated pension systems, missing credit periods etc. This is the reason why old-age poverty is becoming an increasingly bigger problem in OECD countries.

An example:
old-age poverty in Austria

Old-age poverty and loneliness, as well as isolation at an old age, are a growing problem around the world. We are fighting this by generating employment opportunities for seniors affected by old age poverty, and creating places where old and young can be together, off- and online.
Loneliness at an old age
542.000 single Seniors in Austria, or in other words: every 3rd person over 65 is living alone. (source: Statistics Austria, 2021)
Old age poverty in Austria
226.000 seniors affected by old-age poverty (Source: Diakonie Österreich, 2019)
Growing Generation Gap
Communication and building relations between generations for more togetherness

The campaign

Extra income for the Granny through online baking courses: Locally tried and tested solution goes global!

Since 1 October, 2020 we have had more than 100 online live-courses with more than 500 participants in our Vollpension BakAdemy. In several weekly courses, people interested in baking learn how to bake the secret recipes in grandma’s and grandpa’s baking books; our seniors generate a crisis-resistant income source.

Now we want to make this tried and tested model of digital senior empowerment internationally accessible. For this, our grannies made a video and call to action.
Sticky rice with mango by a grandma from Bangkok, Quindim by a grandma from Rio de Janeiro or cardamom rice pudding by a grandma from Mumbai are only three examples of courses which could perhaps be available in our BakAdemy in future.
This way, we create an attractive course programme for baking aficionados and the possibility to earn some extra money for seniors around the globe.

The project in detail

We will start with an international call of action on 22 April 2021. It is meant for seniors and their close relatives, children, grand-children and other family members, we call them granny‘s sparring partners.

 

The applications received will be evaluated after the submission deadline on 30 June 2021 will have expired, and adequate candidates will be selected.

We will send the seniors a live course package with appropriate hardware, training for the platform, format and schedule, as well as connection to our website.

 

On 30 September 2021 we will go live with our international course offers.

Campaign goals

100 million+ people reached
5000+ granny applications from 50+ countries
Creating national hero(ine) stories in 100 countries

Impact goals

Global awareness on the topics of old-age poverty and isolation
Political pressure to change the way of handling old-age poverty
250 additional seniors employed
Basis for long-term establishment and scaling of the platform

Vollpension BakAdemy

Our BakAdemy is a knowledge transfer and e-learning platform, making grannies’ baking knowledge accessible around the world.
We create an additional, scalable and crisis-resistant possibility to earn additional income for seniors in Austria and around the world, and become the world‘s biggest provider of digital jobs for seniors.

Our OMAsterclasses (high-quality on-demand video baking courses) and live baking courses (baking coaching for small groups through video conferences) get our seniors on the internet, and create additional possibilities to connect generations – now also online.

In 2020, after only 5 months of development, we created our digital baking academy with 3 OMAsterclass video courses (12 hours of high-quality video content in total), live baking courses taught by our seniors, an online shop and a recipe database.

 

In only 3 months, we managed to generate a turnover of more than 150,000 EUR – 80,000 through partnerships with companies and sponsoring by renowned brands such as Dr. Oetker, Drei, iSi, Joya, Kenwood, Riess Emaille, Gmundner Keramik or AEG. This way, we managed to establish a second stable and scalable pillar for our Vollpension.

About Vollpension

Since 2012, Vollpension has been developing solutions for the challenges of old-age poverty, isolation and the increasing gap between generations in Vienna, Austria, and additionally is a leader in this topic in the German-speaking region. Our core topics of old-age poverty and isolation among the elderly have never been more relevant than today.

Our "Generationencafés" (or, as we like to call them, generation-bridging cafés) had on average 200,000 guests per year up until 2020. Then the corona crisis hit us all, and Vollpension, quite severe. Shortly before we had to shut everything down, we fled to the internet with all 45 of our seniors – and that with success! Now we want to move the formula we developed last year – seniors earning extra money by sharing their knowledge about baking on the internet – out into the world.

The present project brings us one small slice of cake closer to our vision that not a single person needs to grow old in poverty and isolation by drawing attention to old-age poverty, and by providing seniors all over the world with the opportunity to earn money online.

Bake Against Poverty is supported by

Support the campaign

Learn how to bake now
Support us with a donation
I want to stay up-to-date

Über die Kampagne: Bake Against Poverty

Online-Einkommen als Weg aus der Altersarmut

Über die Kampagne: Bake Against Poverty

Online-Einkommen als Weg aus der Altersarmut

In a nutshell

Die Vollpension Backademie ist eine E-Learning-Plattform, auf der Senior*innen mit Backkursen ein Zusatzeinkommen verdienen können. Mit Bake Against Poverty laden wir Omas und Opas weltweit dazu ein, sich als Online-Backlehrer*innen zu bewerben. Damit wollen wir dazu beitragen, Altersarmut und Isolation zu reduzieren.

Die Herausforderung

Altersarmut: Corona beschleunigt ein globales Problem

“In most countries, the risk of poverty increases with age.”

(Income Poverty in Old Age. An Emerging Development Priority; social.un.org/ageing, 2015)

 

Bis 2030 wird die Gruppe älterer Menschen über 60 Jahre um das Doppelte auf 2,1 Milliarden älterer Menschen anwachsen. Es gibt kaum aggregierte weltweite Zahlen zu Altersarmut, die UN warnt jedoch ausdrücklich, davor dass der Umgang mit wachsenden Armutssituation der Bevölkerungsgruppe “Menschen über 60” der ausschlaggebende Aspekt dafür sein wird, ob das UN Sustainable Development Goal “1 Keine Armut” erreicht werden könne. Corona verstärkt das Problem noch einmal wesentlich, die Relevanz für Lösungen war nie größer als heute.

Altersarmut ist überall ein Thema

60% der älteren Menschen weltweit leben in Entwicklungsländern, wo Sozial- und Pensionsysteme rar sind. Gerade hier wird Altersarmut ein immer größer werdendes Problem. Andererseits beobachtet die UN, vor allem bei älteren Frauen, auch zunehmende Armuts- und Abhängigkeitsverhältnisse im Alter in reicheren Ländern. Dies ist auf veraltete Pensionssysteme, fehlende Anrechnungszeiten etc. zurückzuführen. So wird auch Altersarmut in OECD Ländern zum immer größeren Problem.

Altersarmut* in OECD Ländern (2015-2018)
Beispiele:

Schweiz, Japan, Israel: 20% älterer Menschen über 66 sind arm

Australien, USA: ca. 33% älterer Menschen über 66 sind arm

Spitzenreiter in der OECD ist Südkorea mit 48% der älteren

Menschen in Armut.

 

*Als Armutsgrenze wurde dabei die Hälfte des mittleren

Haushaltseinkommens des jeweiligen Staates definiert.

Beispiel:
Altersarmut in Österreich

Altersarmut und Einsamkeit, sowie Isolation im Alter sind ein weltweit zunehmend wachsendes Problem. Dagegen treten wir an und schaffen Beschäftigung für von Altersarmut betroffene Senior*innen und Orte des Miteinanders zwischen Alt und Jung - on- und offline.
Einsamkeit im Alter
542.000 alleinstehende Senior*innen in Österreich oder auch jeder 3. Mensch über 65 lebt alleine. (Quelle: Statistik Austria, 2021)
Altersarmut in Österreich
226.000 Senior*innen von Altersarmut betroffen (Quelle: Diakonie Österreich, 2019)
Wachsende Generationenkluft
Dialog und Verbindung zwischen den Generationen für mehr Miteinander

Die Kampagne

Oma-Zuverdienst durch Online- Backkurse: Lokal erprobte Lösung - jetzt global!

Seit 1.10.2020 wurden im Rahmen der Vollpension Backademie mehr als 100 Kurse mit mehr als 500 Teilnehmern abgehalten. In mehreren wöchentlich stattfindenden Kursen lernen Backinteressierte die geheimen Rezepte aus Omas und Opas Rezeptbuch, für die Senior*innen entsteht eine krisensichere Einkommensquelle.

Nun wollen wir dieses erprobte Modell des digitalen Senior*innen-Empowerments weltweit zugänglich machen. Dazu rufen unsere Omas in einem Call-to-Action Video auf.

Sticky Rice mit Mango von der Oma aus Bangkok, Quindim von der Oma aus Rio de Janeiro oder Kardamom-Milchreis von der Oma aus Mumbai sind nur drei Beispiele von Kursen, die es zukünftig in der Backademie geben könnte.

So schaffen wir ein attraktives Kursangebot für Backaffine und eine Einkommensquelle für Senior*innen rund um den Globus.

Kampagnenablauf im Detail

Wir starten am 22. April 2021 mit einem internationalen Teilnahmeaufruf. Dieser richtet sich an Senior*innen und deren nahe Angehörige, Kinder, Enkel und andere Familienmitglieder, wir nennen sie Oma-Sparringpartner. Die erhaltenen Bewerbungen werden evaluiert und die geeigneten Kandidat*innen ausgewählt. Am 15. Oktober 2021 gehen wir mit dem internationalen Kursangebot live.

 

Die Senior*innen bekommen von uns ein Live-Kurs-Package mit entsprechender Hardware, eine Einschulung in Plattform, Format und Ablauf, sowie eine Anbindung an unsere Website.

 

 

Kampagnenziele

100 Mio+ erreichte Menschen
5000+ Oma-Bewerbungen aus 50+ Ländern
Schaffen von nationalen Hero-Stories in 50 Ländern

Impact-Ziele

Global Awareness für das Thema Altersarmut und Isolation
Politischer Druck für Veränderung des Umgangs mit Altersarmut
250 zusätzliche Senior*innen in Beschäftigung
Grundlage für das langfristige Etablieren und Skalieren der Plattform

Die Vollpension Backademie

Die Backademie ist eine Wissenstransfer und E-Learning Plattform, die Omas Backwissen der ganzen Welt zugänglich macht.
Wir schaffen damit eine zusätzliche, skalierbare und krisensichere Zuverdienstmöglichkeit für Senior*innen in Österreich und der ganzen Welt und werden zum weltweit größten Anbieter für digitale Jobs für Senior*innen.

Mit unseren OMAsterclasses (hochwertig produzierte On-Demand Videobackkurse) und Live-Backkursen (Backcoaching für Kleingruppen via Videokonferenz) bringen wir unsere Senior*innen ins Internet und schaffen weitere Räume der Verbindung zwischen den Generationen - jetzt auch online.

Nach nur 5 Monaten Entwicklungsdauer schufen wir 2020 die digitale Backakademie mit 3 OMAsterclass Videokursen (insgesamt 12h hochwertiger Videocontent), Live-Backkursen von unseren Senior*innen, einem Online-Shop und einer Rezeptdatenbank.

 

Wir konnten damit in nur 3 Monaten über 150.000 EUR an Umsätzen generieren – 80.000 aus Unternehmenspartnerschaften und Sponsorings von namhaften Marken wie Dr. Ötker, Drei, iSi, Joya, Kenwood, Riess Emaille, Gmundner Keramik oder AEG. So konnten wir ein zweites stabiles und skalierbares Standbein für die Vollpension etablieren.

Über die Vollpension

Die Vollpension schafft seit 2012 Lösungen für die Herausforderungen Altersarmut, Isolation und die wachsende Generationenkluft in Wien, und ist darüber hinaus Themenführer im deutschsprachigen Raum. Unsere Themen Altersarmut und Isolation im Alter waren nie relevanter als heute.

Unsere Generationencafés hatten bis 2020 durchschnittlich 200.000 Gäste im Jahr. Dann kam Corona und hat die Vollpension schwer getroffen, kurz vor dem Aus sind wir samt unserer 45 Senior*innen in’s Internet „geflüchtet“ – mit Erfolg. Nun wollen wir die im letzten Jahr entwickelte Formel – Senior*innen verdienen durch die Weitergabe von Backwissen im Internet einen Zuverdienst – in die Welt hinaustragen.

Mit dem vorliegenden Projekt wollen wir unserer Vision, dass kein Mensch in Armut und Isolation altern soll, ein kleines Kuchenstück näher kommen, indem wir internationale Aufmerksamkeit auf das Thema Altersarmut lenken und Senior*innen in aller Welt eine Möglichkeit auf Online-Zuverdienst bieten.

Bake Against Poverty
wird unterstützt von

Unterstütze die Kampagne!

Hilf mit, Altersarmut und Isolation zu reduzieren.
Lerne jetzt backen
Hilf uns mit einer Spende
Ich möchte informiert bleiben